Quote:
Originally Posted by themark
Sounds like any of those scams where they promise you loads of money and all you have to do is invest $20 or so [for the] books. You could find a bunch more similar scams in the "business opportunity" ads in your newspaper, or probably in your email spam box.
|
Not only is it not a scam, it is one of the better Panamanian sites being put up to help ppl open a private currency (Forex) trading account. The banking laws in Panama make for a wonderfully secure trading and investing environment far from governmental scrutiny, and the ease of use for e-gold, and e-buillion and other e-payment forms is fantastic. Since Panamanian banks also use the U.S. dollar, it is nice to take into note that you aren't losing (or gaining) any $$ in the initial account funding.
https://www.opentrade.net/index.htm
Foreign exchange market - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Forex | Forex Trading | Forex Minis | Online Currency Trading
Whois.com Home Page
www.godaddy.com
There is absolutely no promise of any profit from your investment; it is a trading account, that means that YOU call the shots, you do the research, you make the trades, and if something bad happens, you take the fall. The site provides the usual broker services, and I imagine that if you had run into Orlando Ortiz several years ago, he would have had an offline forex brokerage office that catered to companies, the government, and really wealthy people, since they were basically the only private users of forex trading until the internet opened it up to eveyone. Also, the site has a really nice disclosure section, a comprehensive FAQ and updates its technical downtimes regularly, which is nice to know, considering that forex markets are open 24/7 due to the fact that there are always business hours somewhere on the planet. OTI, Inc. also follows a U.S. holiday trading schedule for the ease of use of its (presumeably, since the site is in American English) U.S. investors.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zomb
[Whois information...]then it is (in my opinion) obviously a scam, even if the company and/or address exists.
|
Obviously a scam? I realize that you qualified this statement as an opinion, but 'obviously a scam?' That's a little rough. Did you get a negative response from customer support? Did you not like the site design?
Or did the fact that it is registered to a single human being put you off?
The vast majority of websites that you use every day are likely registered to subsidiaries that you've never heard of existing. For instance--you'd likely be suspicious of email coming from Tucows, Inc., thinking that maybe you are the target of some vicious dairy-based webscam--when, in fact, they are the registering company of Hotmail.com, which ppl think is Microsoft/MSN--and it is, but through Tucows, Inc. registry (MSN also shares Tucows registry.) And this site, Panamaforum.com--perhaps it is based in Panama? No... The U.S.? No... How about Hong Kong? Yup. Why? Who knows? Someone saw a market niche and a specific vehicle for Panama-related advertising. And while they list an address, phone # and email, there is no fax #. So you are unable to fax in advertising, letters to admin, etc. Can you name a reputable business that does not have a fax phone number? Do you trust this site? I mean, you are not going to send them $$, but you open their email, right?
Risa Stone
admin@panamaforum.com
21st Floor, ICBC Tower, Citibank Plaza, No. 3 Gard
Hong Kong, Hong Kong n/a HK
Phone: +852.22735825
Fax:
Record dates:
Record created on: 2005-11-25 17:03:14 UTC
Record modified on: 2006-11-20 06:50:19 UTC
Record expires on: 2007-11-25 UTC
Domain Name: MSN.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server: whois.tucows.com
Referral URL:
Tucows Domain Name Help Center
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Updated Date: 12-oct-2006
Creation Date: 10-nov-1994
Expiration Date: 04-jun-2014
______________________________________
As always, research for yourself before entering into any offshore investments, and take special note of listed fees, changes in fee percentages as investment amounts fluctuate or account types change, and what types of personal/federal taxation your offshore investments be considered subject.
Cheers.